Boundless.

Thunder woke me startled this morning. For a second I felt the desire and need to just snuggle in for a few more minutes.
 In one week I’ll probably completely forget how in love I was waking up to those cracks and rumbles this morning. In a few hours I may not be able to hear them over the sounds of lab instruments and air conditioning systems and fans, but in that moment all I wanted was to watch rain drops race down window panes, to snuggle into this moment a little deeper, because it is beautiful, relaxing, and so completely peaceful.
It reminded me that last night I lay in the dark and a few tears escaped and ran down my cheeks. I realized in that moment how little I believed that God actually had all, I mean ALL, of my life. I realized how little I believed that He actually had a plan in what feels monotonous and mundane. In the midst of my dark bedroom I was reminded of His all consuming light.
This morning I connected those moments and I remembered what my sister reminded me of months ago, you can’t cap God. He is organic, free…wildly free, and He is bigger than my fears, my problems, and my strengths. I was reminded of watching lightning over the Rocky mountains and realizing God is big. And not just New York City big, mountains big, or whole earth big, but without bounds, big. Standing on the beach can’t see any land big, looking into the sky realizing we aren’t in a snow globe big. He isn’t a genie in a lamp. He cannot be contained, capped, or wrangled or reigned in like an overstuffed suitcase you sit on to close. He is doing big things. He is working things for your good. He is holding you when you want to snuggle in bed. He is holding you when you are making big moves and He is holding you when the floor seems to have dropped out from under you. And he doesn’t have a square box that says how He can or will do it. It’s not A, B, C, or a combination of those three.

 It’s b o u n d l e s s. 

He makes the rules. He has no boundaries. So whatever you are going through this morning, I pray for peace in your hearts and a call in your soul. One step in faith, that He has all of your life.
Genesis 1:2-3 is on my heart this morning.
2 Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters.3 And God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light.

Just soaking in this verse…

Leave a Reply

