Busy. 

Lately I’ve caught myself more often than not responding to people asking “how’s life?” with an exasperated “busy”. 
I run on an elliptical and read books. I watch tv and cook dinner, while folding laundry, doing dishes, and sorting mail. I talk on the phone and fill out paperwork while making schedules and to do lists in my head, on post it’s, or on my phone. I run from here and there and get home sometimes after 9 or 10 at night. This is my normal. 
Then I came across this verse. 
The plans of the diligent lead surely to abundance and advantage, 

But everyone who acts in haste comes surely to poverty.

Proverbs 21:5 AMP
I’ve felt so convicted the past week to be intentional. And busy doesn’t always feel intentional. It feels like calendar invites, volunteering, driving, eating out, and crashing when I get home exhausted, feeling tired waking up to do it again. 

Sure some seasons in life are busier than others. Volunteering and having a schedule isn’t a bad thing, but it can be when it gets to be too much. When we stretch ourselves too thin. 
It’s so easy to feel productive or purposeful when I’m moving, but there can also be a lot of wasted life under the label of busy. To the outside world I might seem like “she can do it all”, “she’s got it together”, “how does she have energy for that?”, but in reality we can’t maintain that lifestyle. We need balance. Seasons of “busy” and seasons of rest. 
I don’t have it all together, I have energy because I drink about six cups of coffee almost everyday and don’t stop moving until my head hits my pillow at night. 
I’m tired and worn out and in complete need of Jesus. (Matthew 11:28-30) I cherish Saturday and Sunday mornings because I get to slow things waaaaay down. I paint and cook and listen to music. Moly (my hedgehog) helps me to get outdoors and sit in the grass or pull out my hammock. I used to struggle with this, sitting still, and now I crave it, like mountains and starry skies.
But I walked out of work yesterday to this sky. 

Sometimes God gets my attention by taking my breath. It works every time. Slow down your busy. You don’t have to do it all. It’s beautifully freeing.

Leave a Reply

