A Case of the Mondays. 

Back in Denver for our last day in the mountains, we are reinventing what it means to have a “case of the Mondays”. We are meeting, climbing, and exploring the Rockies. 
We hiked bear lake, nymph lake, dream lake, and emerald lake…in the snow…feet of snow…in shorts and sandals, and it was totally worth it. 10,000+ feet up in the snowy mountains, getting rained on. 
I can’t get enough of this place. 
The views…this is why panoramic photos where invented. Because no one would believe it were real otherwise. 
My toes were numb. My breath shallow. My mind not feeling as alert as normal, but I was already missing these views. My heart longing to soak in every second. 
I just wanted to lay on rocks and sink in a little more. Like an inflatable bounce house all to myself. I want to sink in and become a part of this place. Feeling the most myself I have in weeks, I stared out at this view and asked God to give me more dreams and the willpower to chase them. 
I worry about zero things here. No make up, don’t fix your hair, wearing smiles and laughter like blankets over us. It is the most beautiful accessory to my heart. 
Yet I know this isn’t my every day. This isn’t my 8-5. It’s not my job, it’s not my home, and it’s not my everyday life. It’s a peak, literally a peak, but also the exciting top of a mountain in my journey. 
One year ago, I was told to move on. At an airport, nonetheless. My heart broke. My dreams felt shattered. And I felt lied to. 
I’m here on the other side to prove life is what you make it. I refuse to settle for mediocre. I refuse to drop bars. I refuse to become bitter about things that are painful. (Praying God will always help me with that). I want to redefine standards, for others and myself. And I’m reinventing parts of my life that were dying that now require a little more tlc to start new growth. 
There are too many days in my life I wake up and don’t want to be happy. Plenty of mornings I wake up and feel a pinch of bitterness…and then I look at what God has brought me through.
God is giving me the most epic love story. It isn’t compromise or settling. It’s everything I could ask for and more, but I have to choose to see that over what others try to point out. It doesn’t always come easy. I’m not immune or excused from pain, negativity, or any other thing. It involves grace, prayers, lament, and the tears I talk about all too often. 
These mountains are my awe inspiring, soul awakening reminder that beautiful things are made where we care for them. 
Stop calling wildflowers weeds, friends, and run through them embracing that wild is just as beautiful as “put together” gardens. 

Leave a Reply

