Leaving the Tetons. 

Sunday, June 4
Shew. 
It’s been a whirlwind. 
Travel days, long adventure days, getting in late, getting up early…and despite the crazy, I wouldn’t trade a second. 
The bittersweet I feel thinking about those mountains in my rear view is hard to explain without sounding crazy. It’s more than small, it’s longing to meet them again. It’s wishing I didn’t have to leave. It’s wishing “folding the map” was real. 
It’s love. That book you can’t put down, the song you listen to over and over, or the smell of the laundry of that person…it never gets old. You can’t get enough. 
I thought of all these things as I counted shades of blue, green, red, pink, yellow, orange, and purple. Tears formed in my eyes…because there’s no explanation. Beautiful souls, beautiful places…they steal a part of your heart. You fall in love, even if it sounds completely ridiculous. I won’t ever be the same, in the best way. It erases the parts of your memory that are false and helps you reset the truth. 
The truth is…that these mountains, people who love life, or the fresh clean mountain air will never cease to tear open a part of my heart I never knew existed. The side that is fearless. Adventurous. The side that has shown me how to live in freedom. 
Thankfulness is overflowing. 
Sunday we grabbed breakfast and coffee in the hotel before grabbing bagels later to head into the national park to say farewell to these mountains. 
At Jenny lake towards moose ponds we climbed out on some submerged rocks in icy Wyoming waters, and fell in love with this epic and fantasy world surrounding us.
I can’t help but laugh and find pure JOY in the friendships, in the surroundings, and the feelings I have thinking about this trip. Thinking about the goals we reached, the hard feelings I’m facing, and the dreams we all will start moving towards in our very different lives. 
It has been epic. 
The friendships that have grown, the goals we have taken on…it leaves us dreaming…and over here we do it big, so dreams start expanding. 
Driving through flatter terrain with the Tetons in my rear view, I asked God for new adventures. New dreams, and to never forget or become complacent to the ones I’ve already had. 
Roads from the Tetons are leaving me dreaming of even more roads and even more destinations.  

Leave a Reply

